Sunday, August 22, 2010

Uva Province

Uva Prvoince (Sinhala: Uva Palatha) is Sri Lanka's second least populated province, 1,187,335 people, created in 1896. It consists of two districts: Badulla and Monaragala. The provincial capital is Badulla. Uva is borderd by Eastern, Southern and Central provinces. Its major tourist attractions are Dunhinda falls, Diyaluma Falls, Rawana Falls, the Yala National Park (lying partly in the Southern and Eastern Provinces) and Gal Oya National Park (lying partly in the Eastern Province). The Gal Oya hills and the Central mountains are the main uplands, while the Mahaweli (Sinhalese meaning: great-sandy) and Menik (Sinhalese meaning: gemstone) rivers and the large Senanayake Samudraya and Maduru Oya Reservoirs are the major waterways.

Uva is famous throughout SriLanka and the world as a tourist paradise. There are many tourist attractions here. Some of them are ancient ruins, waterfalls, sanctuaries. thousands of tourists visit these places almost everyday.

No comments:

Search This Blog